Melvins just announced the existence of Crystal Fairy, a new project they've started along with Teri from Le Butcherettes and Omar Rodríguez-López of Mars Volta/At the Drive-In. Amrep will be releasing a 7" with two songs on October 10th via Shoxop, and Ipecac will be releasing a full length from the new band on February 24th, 2017! Check out "Drugs on the Bus", a track from the 7" below! 

“When the Melvins toured with Le Butcherettes, Teri would come out at the end of the set and do ‘Rebel Girl’ with us. It was almost always the highlight of the show!  From doing that, we knew there was some chemistry between us that was worth exploring. We became close friends with both Teri and Omar on the tour and came up with the idea of starting a new band with them." - Dale

“The Melvins have had many different line-ups, and we’ll continue to mix things up but with Crystal Fairy, working with Teri and Omar, I know this was something different and deserved to have its own identity.” - Buzz

“Omar caught up with us on the Melvins’ tour because he is an admirer. Through the travels, the Melvins and Omar connected as well. Sometimes, Omar and I would fantasize loudly of hopefully being able to form a power together. Before we knew it, we were writing music in the studio (both in El Paso and L.A.) and birthed a magical little gem that I am extremely proud to be a part of.” - Teri

“While our main bands will still remain our focus and priority, we intend to have as much fun as possible recording and touring with this special and unique project." - Omar

Crystal Fairy self-titled debut track list

  1. Chiseler
  2. Drugs on the Bus
  3. Necklace of Divorce
  4. Moth Tongue
  5. Crystal Fairy
  6. Secret Agent Rat
  7. Under Trouble
  8. Bent Teeth
  9. Posesión
  10. Sweet Self
  11. Vampire X-Mass

Melvins will be playing a couple shows at the end of the year along with Redd Kross & OFF! and two other shows in January along Sleep!

Poster by HAZE XXL

© 2024