The Melvins are set to release Tres Cabrones, a 12-song release that finds Buzz Osborne and Dale Crover reuniting with original drummer Mike Dillard, on Nov. 5 via Ipecac Recordings.

“Tres Cabrones is as close as we’re willing to get to the Melvins 1983 line-up,” explained Osborne.  “The best part is it’s all new songs.  I specifically wrote tunes that would be good for these guys to play and it worked out great.  We had no interest in rehashing tunes we wrote 30 years ago and chose instead to simply create NEW songs.  It worked out perfectly.”

“Making the Tres Cabrones record was a real treat indeed. It’s a trip down memory lane complete with debauchery and ultra violence, ” said Dillard, who left the band in 1984 only to be replaced by Crover.  

“After 30 years we release a record with the (almost) original line-up of the band,” added Crover.  “I’ve always felt that drummer Mike Dillard was one of us.  It’s great that he’s still a piece of the puzzle!  Plus, I get to see what it’s like being the bass player in the Melvins!  Tres Cabrones indeed!”

Tres Cabrones tracklisting:

  1. Doctor Mule
  2. City Dump
  3. American Cow
  4. Tie My Pecker to a Tree
  5. Dogs and Cattle Prods
  6. Psychodelic Haze
  7. 99 Bottles of Beer
  8. I Told You I was Crazy
  9. Stump Farmer
  10. In the Army Now
  11. Walter's Lips
  12. Stick 'em up Bitch

The Melvins are currently in the midst of their 30th Anniversary Tour in their ongoing four-piece iteration (father-to-be Jared Warren is on paternity leave with Butthole Surfers’ bass player Jeff Pinkus filling in).

The Onion A.V. Club recorded an epic video of the 30th Anniversary Tour lineup performing 'Graveyard' by the Butthole Surfers in Chicago for a crowd of adoring ice cream fans!

The Melvins cover Butthole Surfers
© 2022