Today the band premiered Pitfalls In Serving Warrants from their forthcoming acoustic double album Five Legged Dog. Check out the track below along with more details from the press release:

The Melvins recently announced their most ambitious project yet: Five Legged Dog (Oct. 15, Ipecac Recordings), a 36-song newly recorded, acoustic collection featuring a career-spanning collection of songs, from 1987’s Gluey Porch Treatments to 2017’s A Walk With Love & Death, the entire gamut of the legendary band’s catalogue is represented.

Today the Melvins share the acoustic rendering of "Pitfalls In Serving Warrants", which originally appeared on the band's 1997 album, Honky. About the track Buzz Osborne says: "’Pitfalls’ is one of my favorites. A severely underrated song and one that works very well on acoustic.”

Five Legged Dog also features acoustic versions of several rarities from the influential band’s overflowing discography including a cover of Redd Kross’ “Charlie” (from the limited-edition “Escape From LA” single), “Outside Chance,” a Turtles’ cover from the “Slithering Slaughter” single and new interpretations of The Rolling Stones “Sway,” Brainiac’s “Flypaper,” and Fred Neil’s “Everybody’s Talking” (popularized by Harry Nilsson). Butthole Surfer Jeff Pinkus lends his vocals (and banjo) to “Don’t Forget to Breathe” and “Everybody’s Talking.”

“I knew I wanted to do something ridiculously big,” explains Buzz Osborne of the band’s first ever acoustic offering. ”36 songs reimagined by us acoustically is certainly ridiculous but it works. The magic of the songs is still there regardless of it being acoustic. Since we weren’t touring we had the time to do something of this size. I’m very excited about this record. Dale and Steven did a fantastic job on this. I think it’s a very special record. I can’t think of anyone else who’s done something like this.”
Dale Crover noted: “I think people will be surprised that we can do an acoustic version of a song like ‘Night Goat’ without losing any of the heaviness. We also worked hard on the vocal arrangements. People are going to freak out!”
The collection, which is available for pre-order now, will be released digitally, as a double-disc CD, both on Oct. 15, with a 4LP colored vinyl release arriving on Jan. 28.

Amphetamine Reptile Records has also announced that the new vinyl of the audio from Melvins TV Volumes 1-3 will be released in batches beginning in September on SHOXOP. There will be art editions as well as factory editions later. As always keep an eye on their Facebook page for timely updates on release dates as these always sell out quick. A very small batch(less than 100) HAZE XXL art edition variants of the recent Ipecac (a) Senile Animal vinyl pressing will also be going up this Sunday, Aug. 22nd. The factory editions of the Melvins Slithering Slaughter EP were released last Sunday and promptly sold out as expected.

© 2023